Website Manager

70 Years of Tradition

70 Years of Tradition

Courtney Miller Spirit Award

The Miller Family

The Courtney Miller Memorial Fund and the Miller Family -- Randy, Linda, Kyle, and Katie -- established the San Marino National Little League Softball/Courtney A. Miller Spirit Award in 2007 in memory of their daughter and sister, Courtney, who passed away in 2006 at age 19 after a three year battle with cancer.

Courtney played 5 years in SMNLL, beginning in the Pitching Machine Division, and then moved on to Minors Softball. Courtney was selected to the Minors All-Star team, a team which became the very first San Marino Softball District Champion to qualify and compete at the Regional level, launching the SMNLL Softball program to the level of success it has enjoyed ever since.  Many of the girls on that winning team went on to play as Juniors All-Stars and in 2001 competed on the first team from San Marino to participate in the National Little League World Series.
Courtney was a gifted athlete, a spirited and positive softball player, an enthusiastic competitor, hard worker, good friend and teammate, and embodied all of what it means to participate in SMNLL softball.  She continued that spirit and competitiveness in later endeavors, in high school at Polytechnic and at college at Berkeley, inspiring others in her brave fight against her cancer.
The Courtney Miller Foundation and Miller Family give this Award annually to the SMNLL Softball girl who best exemplifies Courtney's indomitable spirit.  The recipients are selected based on the following criteria: Team Spirit – Enthusiasm – Sportsmanship and Fair Play - Team Contribution, Dedication, Inspiration, and overcoming any challenges to participate in SMNLL Softball.

Congratulations to the 2007 Courtney Miller Spirit Award recipients Michelle Floyd and Jacqueline Martinez.

Congratulations to the 2008 Courtney Miller Spirit Award recipients Kathleen Sloan and Elizabeth Shelburne.

SMNLL congratulates 2009 Courtney A. Miller Spirit Award recipients Jamie Fadley and Avery Barth.

SMNLL celebrates 2010 Courtney A. Miller Spirit Award recipient Alison Day.

Congratulations to Lindsay Saldebar, named the 2011 Courtney A. Miller Spirit Award recipient.

Congratulations to 2012 Courtney Miller Award recipients Erin McCloskey and Lauren Allen.

Congratulations to 2013 Courtney Miller Award recipients Sammy Edmonds and Brooke Snaer.

Congratulations to 2014 Courtney Miller Award recipients Priscilla McAllister and Stevie Perry.

Congratulations to 2015 Courtney Miller Award recipients Kate Brunner and Ellie Kanda.

Congratulations to 2016 Courtney Miller Award recipients Katy Bell and Kari Miller.

Congratulations to 2017 Courtney Miller Award recipients Charis Chung and Macy Mooney!

Congratulations to 2018 Courtney Miller Award recipients Sophia Bilvado and Amanda Redding!

Congratulations to 2019 Courtney Miller Award recipients Kennedy Taylor and Kayla Giddings!

Congratulations to 2021 Courtney Miller Award recipients Tylie Pellant and Mackenzie Taylor!

Contact us

San Marino National Little League

2275 Huntington Dr #248 
San Marino, California 91108
Email: [email protected]

Copyright © 2024 San Marino National Little League  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In